ITEC 2015 - Aberdeen en


Our ITEC 2015 was held in Aberdeen, Scotland, UK. Over the course of the event our committees presented their work undertaken over the past year and their plans for the year ahead. Meetings were held at the Double Tree Hilton Aberdeen City Conference Centre and our Technical Day at the Transition Extreme climbing wall. The event was closed with our AGM, Annual Dinner and awards ceremony.

Exhibitors put on a fantastic display throughout the conference and demonstrated their products in action during our Technical Day at the Transition Extreme venue. A special thanks goes to all of our exhibitors:

ActSafe Systems AB
Arthur J Gallagher Insurance Brokers Ltd
Bornack GmbH & Co KG
C.A.M.P. S.p.A
DMM International Ltd
Edson Tiger Security Company
English Braids Ltd
The Heightec Group Limited
ISC Wales
Skylotec GmbH

Edson Tiger Security Company was invited to speak to our members and covered topics on security whilst abroad and threat risk management.

Our Equipment & Standards Committee meeting was chaired by Jonathan Capper and covered a variety of issues including the Committee structure with its current active Working Groups and consultants, the RAMRASS scheme and the BS 8610 Anchor Standard.

Our Health & Safety Committee meeting was chaired by Paul Bingham and featured additional speakers covering matters such as the Work & Safety Analysis Report (WASA), human Factors and a report on fatality.

Our Training Committee meeting was led by Rob Benton and covered topics including the review of TACS, the Direct Entry procedures, the Instructor qualification and Assessors & Instructors’ Workshops.


The following candidates were elected to their respective committees:


Paul Bingham (Chair)
Barri Marshall
Simon Kamperis
Chris Edmondson
Graham Burnett
Daniel Rowcroft
Reinhard Grussler
Mark Stephen
Jonathan Birch


Jonathan Capper (Chair)
Tjebbe Roestenburg
Paul Seddon
Dr Chris Robbins
Graham Burnett
Justin Atkinson
Francois Botha
Jonathan Birch
Reinhard Grussler


Rob Benton (Chair)
Adam Long
Ben Eke
Connor Turley
Izak Steyn
Leigh Greenwood
Michael Brushneen
Peter Wood
Steve Moore


Graham Burnett (Chair)
Charles Cooper (Vice Chair)
Amel Vriesman
Barri Marshall
Ivor A’lee
Adriano Peixoto
James Falchetto
Jon Twitchin
Leigh Greenwood
Mark Stephen
Paul Cooper
Jonathan Capper
Paul Bingham
Rob Benton

To bring our ITEC to a fitting close we finished the week with our eagerly awaited Annual Dinner. This was followed by our Annual Awards and ended with a ceilidh band to which our members danced to.