ITEC 2018 Annual Awards Ceremony en


Our ITEC 2018 Annual Awards ceremony took place prior to dinner at Lympne Castle, with its medieval architecture located in a picturesque setting on the south-east coast of the UK. The ceremony was introduced by IRATA Chairman, Jonathan Capper and we were delighted to welcome Mrs. Deborah Burnett as a special guest to present the ‘Graham Burnett Volunteer of the Year Award’, befittingly named after her late husband and past IRATA Chairman. Deborah presented this year’s awards to:

Barri Marshall, Dive-Marine NDT Inspections Pte Ltd; Ivor A’lee, CAN (Offshore) Limited; Jonathan Capper, Lyon Equipment; and Francisco Negreiros, Seabra Tech Rope Ltda.

The ‘Longstanding Contribution to Rope Access Award’ was presented by Paul Seddon OBE to winner: Jonathan Capper of Lyon Equipment, and current IRATA chairman.

We would like to thank all of our speakers, who made this ITEC an informative and successful event. Special thanks go to our guest speakers, who were individually awarded a memento as an acknowledgement of our appreciation.

ITEC 2018 Annual Awards:

Graham Burnett Volunteer of the Year Award

1st place: Barri Marshall, IRATA Vice Chairman
2nd place: Ivor A’lee, IRATA Executive Committee Member
3rd place: (ex aequo) Jonathan Capper, IRATA Chairman
3rd place: (ex aequo) Francisco Negreiros, IRATA Executive Committee Member

Longstanding Contribution to Rope Access Award

Winner: Jonathan Capper, Lyon Equipment, and current IRATA chairman

Guest Speaker Mementos

Craig Aris, Never Let Go (NLG)
Chris Edmondson, Heightec
Dave Ellis, Lyon Equipment
Prof. Rhona Flin, Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen
Guy Fulford, Harken
Daniel Gebel, Edelrid
Karl Raby, High Q
Dr. Chris Robbins, Consultant and Author of Work and Safety Analysis (WASA)

We would like to thank all the Members who registered their nominations for this year’s awards.